Meet our Dream Team – Swati Bose

My Dream Store is nothing without its team. The strength of a team is more than just the sum total of the professional abilities of every team member.

In this series we will be trying to highlight the inner workings of our team by showcasing the people working behind the scenes at My Dream Store. We are hoping that we will get to know some things about our team mates that we didn’t know earlier. We want to know what makes our teammates tick.

The second interview is with our favourite Community Manager, ‘Swati Bose.’ We threw her some googlies and this is how she responded.

Introduce yourself!

I am Swati Bose and I am a Bengali. I was born and brought up in Muscat, Oman. I completed my schooling there and then shifted to India for my engineering. I completed my engineering in electrical and electronics engineering from National Institute of Technology, Warangal (NITW). Along with my academics I was always inclined towards managerial activities and finally at the end of engineering decided to make a strategic shift to a management professional. I am currently the community manager at My Dream Store and I am totally loving it.

What is one word you would use to describe yourself as a child?

Matured 🙂

I loved becoming the leader in whatever I did. Be it during playing time, studies, or group activities right from the age of 4 which ended up me being called the “boss!”

What one memory do you most treasure?

A sneaking out experience from hostel during college. It was epic!

PicsArt_1414662108198

Would you have changed anything about your life? Do you have any regrets?

I would like to be  boy 😛

This might sound funny but I seriously wish so because a lot of times I tend to do things  which are not very well received by people since I am a girl. I would feel more ME if I were a guy 🙂

If you could change one thing about how you were raised as a child, what would it be?

There were no issues with the raising part. I just grew up to be too hyper. So I would like to change that I guess.

What motivates you the most?

Failures help me work harder.

Who or what has been the biggest influence in your life?

My Mom. I am sure without my mom I wouldn’t be the independent woman I am now. She always taught me to be self-dependent and stand strong in all situations.

 What are you most proud of in your life?

 I am proud of the fact that I am a self-made person! Hard Work is something I believe in the most.

 What is the biggest contribution you made in your current role?

 I am currently in the role of a Community Manager. Understanding your community’s needs and working accordingly is the most significant task of my role. If you are able to do that you are good. Till date I have been trying my level best to involve the community and building a healthy relationship with them and that is my biggest contribution.

 How do you think your co-workers see you?

I think they should be answering that question :P. Frankly speaking all of them are amazing people to work with.

Tell us something about your team.

IMG_0603

Day to day I work with Sumanth sir, the Marketing head, Ashok from the Business Dev team and our two interns, Harshal and Priyanka. I couldn’t have asked for a better team to work with. All of them are very cooperative and help me out whenever required.

Even though Sumanth sir is a senior to us I never felt that way. Even when I made mistakes he politely and patiently explained it to me and asked me to not repeat it with an ever-smiling face.

About Ashok, I find myself to be lucky to have a colleague like him. More than just being colleagues we have become very good friends which helps us work in a more coordinated manner. Since the first day he has helped me in understanding My Dream Store from the scratch. I would like to thank him for that.

Harshal and Priyanka were my first friends at My Dream Store who are really very hardworking. They inspire me to work more and more.

Tell me about a time when you had to solve a problem with very little guidance or direction.

When I joined initially, I knew what my job was but couldn’t figure out how to get started with it. That’s when all my team members shared their previous experience as to how they used to deal with the community aspect prior to me being there. That direction they gave me helped me kick-start my work and it was very helpful.

What more are you wanting in your career right now?

I want to be associated with business development and marketing throughout my career and so I am now. Right now I am looking at learning about different dimensions of this role in which I am so that I can gain expertise in the same.

Tell me about a time when you went overtime on a deadline

One of the priority tasks of my role was building a strong community of a particular targeted number which I could not achieve on time.

If you were to start a company from scratch, what values would you build it on?

Transparency. If there is no transparency in an organisation the employees feel insecure all the time which hinders the work culture and leads to bitter relationship among employees. A transparent system helps build employees trust in the organisation.

What would a “perfect” day look like for you?

BeautyPlus_20150926023203_save

A long drive or ride ending up in a silent and peaceful destination along with a good companion 🙂

What characteristic do you most admire in others?

A good sense of humour and confidence in their own self.

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned in the last year?

Be determined and start working for the change you want to bring about in your life before it is too late.

How do you recharge after a long day or month of work?

Whenever I feel that I have spent enough time with myself doing what I want, I feel recharged.

If you knew that in one year you would die suddenly, would you change anything about the way you are living right now?

I always wish to be remembered for the person I am and for the work I do. I would try to become a famous personality through my deeds so that my death would be remembered.

Which is your favourite movie and book?

To pick one movie is insanely hard. If I have to name a few they would be Prestige, Shawshank Redemption. Personally I like watching thriller, mystery, and horror movies. Talking about books, I am not into reading much of novels or fiction. I read more of self-help or learning based books. Few of my favourites are ‘Who moved my cheese?’, ‘Rich Dad Poor Dad, Jugaad Innovation and others.

What is your favourite holiday destination?

Out of the few travel experiences I had till now the place I love the most would be Kerala. The place too is very serene and peaceful with soothing green all over. The people are very warm and friendly. I have been there twice and both the times I had amazing experiences. However, the destination is subject to change because the more you travel the more options you have and your favourite trip will just keep changing.

What is your favourite cuisine?

When it comes to food matters I am total desi in it. I am a crazy fan of Mughlai food. Probably even Italian would just make it to my list.

What do you like best about Hyderabad?

Cost of living compared to other good cities. But to be honest I feel safe at Hyderabad more than anywhere else. That is something I owe to the people of Hyderabad. They are very simple and helpful in any situation. Also Hyderabad has a good night life which I enjoy thoroughly. Be it 3 or 4 early morning you have small food stalls on the roads like all the time. So you come to Hyderabad you never die hungry.

If not this, then what work would you be doing?

My dad is an artist by profession and I always wanted to contribute actively in it. So probably I would start an art gallery showcasing my dad’s artworks and host he exhibitions around the world. That sounds so awesome right?

Wow! Our colleagues are so multi-faceted! It was great talking to you and learning more. Thank you for talking to me!

Comments ( 0 )

    Leave A Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *